DCU Business School’s Next Generation Management Team has won a Team Award and Dr Dónal O’Brien has won an individual award for distinctive innovation in teaching at the 2017/2018 DCU President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

The awards recognise and reward excellence in teaching and facilitating learning in DCU. They reflect many important factors in quality teaching and learning, among them: use of methods that help students to develop as independent, critical thinkers, approaches that stimulate creativity in students, empathy, respect and support of students and the diversity that they bring, use of creative formative assessment and research activities that enhance the learning experiences of students.

The Next Generation Management team won the Team Award, recognised for their excellence in student feedback and developing critical thinking skills. The programme was commended for its value among alumni, employers and external bodies. The use of customised learning to enhance the abilities of students within the class and the implementation of a personal development plan for each student was also recognised. The team includes Gerry Conyngham, Terry O’Brien, Grace Fox, Professor Maura McAdam, Jennifer Farrell and Jona Kalemi. Well done to all!

Dr Dónal O’Brien won a special award for distinctive innovation in teaching for his Global Virtual Teams. His programme was recognised for exposing students to different cultures and norms in the increasingly-internationalised workplace. Use of technology, focus on team work and reflective practice, alongside Dónal’s subject expertise, were recognised in granting this award. Congratulations Dónal!

Several DCU Business School staff members were nominated for awards:

Team Award category:

The Executive MBA team, Programme Director, Claire Gubbins and Ruth Finnegan, was recognised for its excellence in seeking feedback, encouraging evidence-based decision making, delivering careers days and for the level of service provided by Ruth Finnegan to MBA students in answering their queries in a timely and professional manner.

New Tutor or Lecturer

Dr Lisa van der Werff was nominated for making her class on research methodologies come alive, and engaging students in developing thorough research.

Academic category

  • Dr Janine Bosak for her promotion of deep learning and critical enquiry, and for being an approachable and conscientious mentor.
  • Gerry Connyngham for his passion in the area of data analytics, for being highly approachable and excellent at delivering highly constructive feedback.
  • John Nolan for delivering accessible content that is interesting and professionally practical, particularly using online tutorials and step by step videos to explain complex areas of accounting.
  • Joanne Lynch for standard setting, motivating students to work hard and for her expertise in her area.
  • Professor PJ Byrne for his real world teaching, making his material very interesting, for the quality of guest speakers in his class.
  • Dr Artemisa Jamarillo her teaching on the Marketing, Innovation and Technology course at PNU.

Congratulations to the winners and to all of the nominees, for their work in advancing students’ learning at DCU.


About Author

Comments are closed.